Category: Young Adult

SPARROW by Sarah Moon

SPARROW, by debut author Sarah Moon, is the story of a sensitive, gifted African American girl who tells us with mordant humor what it feels like to spend every day wishing so hard that you could fly away from it all.

Read More

MECHANICA by Betsy Cornwell

“Readers looking for an atypical fairy tale will find this refreshing because it relies less on traditional romance or happy endings, and more on living independently and unconventionally, loving freely, and being able to choose your own destiny.”

Read More

SING ME HOME by Shannon O’Brien

We have no idea where author Shannon O’Brien got her inspiration for her first novel, which is set at a women’s college in New England and features a budding romantic relationship between members of rival a capella groups. The Lesbian Review calls SING ME HOME a sweet, low-angst novel that “has the lovely lesbian romance that was missing from the Pitch Perfect movies.”

Read More

P.O.W.ER by Lisa A. Kramer

This is a YA novel that not-so-young adults will want to dive into. In a time where women and girls are forbidden to read or write, one young woman is about to discover the power of words to change the world — literally. Kramer’s book will appeal to fans of Margaret Atwood’s THE HANDMAID’S TALE and Octavia Butler’s SEED TO HARVEST.

Read More
Loading

SEARCH

  • Sort Listings

Affiliate Links

When you click on a link from this website to IndieBound or Amazon and make a purchase, Books by Smithies receives a small percentage at no cost to you. These funds are used to maintain the site. We encourage you to shop your local bookstores whenever possible! Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.