No matter what you like to read, you can bet a Smithie is writing it. This summer’s crop of books with Smith College alumnae for authors includes memoirs, romance, a thriller, a mystery and more! I loved THE FOREST QUEEN by Betsy Cornwell ’10, a feminist retelling of Robin Hood — and I can’t wait to catch up with Detective Thomas Lynch in Stephanie Gayle ’97’s latest installment, IDYLL HANDS. Happy reading!

WICKED AND THE WALLFLOWER: Bareknuckle Bastards Book 1 by Sarah MacLean ’00
“When a mysterious stranger finds his way into her bedchamber and offers his help in landing a duke, Lady Felicity Faircloth agrees—on one condition. She’s seen enough of the world to believe in passion, and won’t accept a marriage without it.” Available June 19th

TANGO LESSONS: A Memoir by Meghan Flaherty ’05
“From a dazzling new literary voice, a debut memoir about a young woman learning to dance tango, becoming comfortable in her own skin and in the arms of others.” Available June 19th.

WORTH THE WAIT: an Out in Portland Novel by Karelia Stetz Waters ’99
“A second chance at first love . . . For fifteen years, Avery Crown tried to forget her best friend Merritt Lessing. The late nights studying, the whispered confidences, and the little touches that never turned into something more. Unfortunately, her efforts have not been as successful as her TV career as the queen of home renovation. So when she runs into Merritt at their high school reunion, Avery asks for one night with the woman she’s always wanted . . .” Available June 19th.

GODSPEED: A Memoir by Casey Legler ’07
“This haunting and electric coming of age memoir charts Casey Legler’s broken childhood—from swimming in the Olympics at eighteen while facing crippling loneliness, to her descent into drug addiction, and a desperate penchant for self-destruction that almost took her life—all while grappling with undiagnosed Autism.” Available July 10th.

DISORDERLY CONDUCT: A Maggie McDonald Mystery  by Mary Feliz ’80

“Professional organizer Maggie McDonald manages to balance a fastidious career with friends, family, and a spunky Golden Retriever. But add a fiery murder mystery to the mix, and Maggie wonders if she’s finally found a mess even she can’t tidy up . . .” Available July 10th.

THE FOREST QUEEN by Betsy Cornwell ’10
“From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on “Robin Hood” in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas.” Available August 7th.

IDYLL HANDS: A Thomas Lynch Novel by Stephanie Gayle ’97
“In the small, sleepy town of Idyll, Connecticut, Police Chief Thomas Lynch assists police officer Michael Finnegan to uncover clues to his sister’s disappearance two decades ago.” Available September 4th

LIFEBOAT 12 by Susan Hood ’76
“In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella By Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy’s harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II.” Available September 4th

48 PEAKS: HIKING AND HEALING IN THE WHITE MOUNTAINS by Cheryl Suchors ’72
“At forty-eight years old, Cheryl Suchors—hoping to find concrete successes and a feeling of control as she changes careers and fifty stares at her from the horizon—vows to summit the highest forty-eight peaks in New Hampshire’s grueling White Mountains. Neglecting to consider her flimsy body, scoliosis, bum knee, and fear of heights, she dives into the challenge.” Available September 11th.